Prepared in the supplied September 2026 research pack. This draft has not been reverified in this pass. Rules, prices, company status, and numerical claims may need correction.
Keep these questions close.
- Read this as a draft from the supplied research pack.
- Follow the linked sources and check current rules before acting.
- Ask how the evidence fits your region, crop, and scale.
The farm bill is the big, multi-year law that sets rules for conservation programs, organic support, research, crop programs and nutrition. The last extension of the old one runs out on September 30, 2026. As of September 17, 2026, the House has passed its version, and the Senate Agriculture Committee advanced its own bill only yesterday, on a party-line vote, after failing to do so in August.
That leaves less than two weeks and several steps still to go: a Senate floor vote, a House–Senate conference, and the President's signature. Another extension, or a lapse, looks likely. No one can say for sure which.
This article is a snapshot, not a prediction. It lays out where the process stands, what is already locked in by other laws, which provisions matter most to eco farmers, and a watch list you can use over the coming months. Things will change quickly after this date, so check current news and your farm organizations before acting on anything here.
Key takeaways
- As of September 17, 2026, the House passed H.R. 7567, the Farm, Food, and National Security Act of 2026, on April 30, 2026 by 224–200.
- The Senate Agriculture Committee advanced the Agricultural Act of 2026 by 12–11 on September 16, 2026, after an August 6 vote failed 10–11.
- The current extension (P.L. 119-37) expires September 30, 2026. Another extension or a lapse is likely; the outcome is uncertain.
- Some eco-farming money does not depend on the farm bill: the 2025 budget law already set organic cost share funding through FY2031 and raised the permanent baseline for EQIP, CSP, ACEP and RCPP.
- Differences to watch include EQIP and CSP payment limits, the organic EQIP cap, and how soil health is funded.
- The main political fight is over nutrition, especially SNAP cost-sharing for states with high error rates.
Where things stand
| Date | Step | Result |
|---|---|---|
| November 2025 | One-year extension through Sept 30, 2026 enacted with FY2026 appropriations (P.L. 119-37) | Ended a 43-day shutdown |
| February 13, 2026 | House bill H.R. 7567 introduced | — |
| March 5, 2026 | House Agriculture Committee reports the bill | 34–17 |
| April 30, 2026 | House passes H.R. 7567 | 224–200 |
| June 23, 2026 | Senate releases Agricultural Act of 2026 discussion draft | — |
| July 29, 2026 | CRS publishes House–Senate comparison (R48918) | — |
| August 6, 2026 | Senate Ag Committee vote to advance | Failed 10–11 |
| September 16, 2026 | Senate Ag Committee vote to advance | Passed 12–11, party line |
| September 30, 2026 | Current extension expires | Pending |
Sources: CRS R48918, Congress.gov, NACo, The National Desk.
According to The National Desk, Sen. Mitch McConnell cast the deciding committee vote after a three-month absence. The same report says the Congressional Budget Office projects $1.374 trillion in mandatory spending over 2026–2036, with $985 billion for nutrition, and that Democrats objected to SNAP cost-sharing for states with high error rates. These details come from news reporting and may be refined as official documents are released.
What happens on September 30
The research behind this article confirms only that the extension expires on September 30, 2026 and that a further extension or a lapse is likely. It does not tell us which programs would be affected first in a lapse, or how. If that matters to your operation, ask your farm organization, extension office or USDA service center directly rather than relying on rumor.
What is already locked in, farm bill or not
A lot of eco-farming money was set by the One Big Beautiful Bill Act (OBBBA), signed July 4, 2025. According to NSAC's breakdown and the Federal Register:
- Organic Certification Cost Share: $8 million a year for FY2025–FY2031. As of September 17, 2026, applications for the 2025 and 2026 program years are due December 31, 2026.
- Conservation baseline: unobligated IRA funds were rescinded and used to permanently raise EQIP, CSP, ACEP and RCPP funding. NSAC puts ten-year EQIP budget authority at $31.55 billion (+55%) and CSP at $13.6 billion (+36%).
- Organic Production and Market Data Initiatives: $10 million for FY2026–2031.
- Not boosted: SARE and OREI got no increase. Dedicated climate-smart practice funding was removed.
Separately, NSAC reports that FY2026 appropriations held SARE at $48 million and funded the Organic Transitions research program at $7.5 million, while cutting NRCS Conservation Technical Assistance to $679.6 million.
This means a farm bill delay does not erase cost share or the larger conservation baseline. But the rules around those programs, such as payment limits, can still change.
Provisions that matter for eco farmers
The CRS comparison is the best single guide. Here is what it says about conservation and organic items most relevant to this site's readers.
| Issue | Current situation (as of Sept 17, 2026) | House bill (H.R. 7567) | Senate bill (Agricultural Act of 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| EQIP payment limit | Removed by FY2026 extension, per NSAC | Restores $450,000 limit through FY2031 | Not stated in CRS points used here |
| CSP payment limit | Removed by FY2026 extension, per NSAC | Restores $200,000 limit through FY2031 | Not stated in CRS points used here |
| EQIP organic payment limit | $140,000 (NRCS page) | Raises to $200,000 | Keeps $140,000 |
| Soil health | No dedicated program noted | $100 million a year of CSP money for a soil health initiative | Creates a stand-alone soil health program |
| Forest conservation easements | — | Creates Forest Conservation Easement Program | Creates Forest Conservation Easement Program |
Reading the table
- Payment limits cut both ways. Restoring limits could spread money across more farms, which may help small operations compete. Larger operations lose the ability to take bigger contracts. Where you land depends on your size and plans.
- The organic cap is a clear difference. A higher organic EQIP limit in the House bill would allow larger organic conservation contracts. It would only become law if it survives conference.
- Soil health design matters. Money inside CSP follows CSP's rules. A stand-alone program could have its own rules. Neither design's details were available for this article.
Organic and transition items outside the two bills
- Opportunities in Organic Act. Reintroduced January 29, 2026 with bipartisan support, per the Organic Farmers Association. It would expand cost share, raise payments for socially disadvantaged and underserved producers, and keep the Transition to Organic Partnership Program (TOPP) going. Advocates may try to attach parts of it to a final farm bill.
- TOPP. As of September 2026, 2026 is reported to be its final funded year.
- Regenerative Pilot Program. $700 million in FY2026 ($400 million EQIP, $300 million CSP), announced by NRCS on December 10, 2025. It is an administrative program inside existing funds, not a farm bill line.
- Staffing. NRCS lost about 2,400 staff since late 2024, per KCUR. No farm bill provision can deliver programs without people to run them.
Balanced view: what supporters and critics point to
The research for this article is thinner on each side's arguments than on the procedural facts, so this section sticks to what was reported.
- Supporters of moving now can point to the House committee (34–17) and floor (224–200) votes and to the extension running out on September 30.
- Critics on the Senate side objected to SNAP cost-sharing for states with high error rates, according to news reports, and the September 16 committee vote split along party lines.
- Sustainable agriculture advocates said the FY2026 extension and funding bill "underwhelm," per the NSAC release title, citing cuts to technical assistance and value-added grants.
Your farm bill watch list
- By September 30, 2026: Did Congress pass another extension, or did the old law lapse?
- Senate floor: Does the Agricultural Act of 2026 get a floor vote, and does it pass?
- Conference: Which payment limits survive: House $450,000 EQIP and $200,000 CSP, or something else?
- Organic EQIP cap: $200,000 (House) or $140,000 (Senate)?
- Soil health: CSP set-aside or stand-alone program?
- Organic bills: Do parts of the Opportunities in Organic Act make it in? Is TOPP extended past 2026?
- Research: Any change for SARE or OREI after they were left out of OBBBA?
- Delivery: Any action on NRCS and FSA staffing or technical assistance funding?
What to do next
- Don't delay applications you can make now. Organic cost share for 2025 and 2026 is due December 31, 2026, as of September 17, 2026.
- Keep talking with your NRCS office about FY2027 conservation plans. The OBBBA baseline exists regardless of the farm bill.
- Sign up for policy updates from farm organizations you trust, and check CRS and Congress.gov for official text.
- Revisit this article after September 30, 2026. We will update it, but always confirm with USDA, NRCS, FSA or your certifier.
This article is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.
Sources
- The 2026 Farm Bill: Comparison of the House and Senate Bills with Current Law (R48918) — Congressional Research Service via EveryCRSReport (July 29, 2026)
- H.R.7567 — Farm, Food, and National Security Act of 2026 — Congress.gov (accessed September 2026)
- Senate Agriculture Committee holds farm bill markup, remains in committee — NACo (August 6, 2026)
- McConnell returns to back Senate farm bill as panel advances it on party-line vote — The National Desk (September 16, 2026)
- What's Really Inside the Final Budget Reconciliation Bill — National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition (July 16, 2025)
- Farm Bill Extension, USDA Funding Bill Underwhelm — National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition (November 10, 2025)
- Organic Certification Cost Share Program (OCCSP), Doc. 2026-13571 — Federal Register (July 6, 2026)
- February 2026 Policy Update — Organic Farmers Association (February 2026)
- USDA Launches New Regenerative Pilot Program — USDA NRCS (December 10, 2025)
- USDA lost 24,000 workers under Trump, hurting critical resources for farmers — KCUR (February 24, 2026)
Sources & context
The source links in the draft above are retained as supplied. They are leads for review, not a claim of current verification.
Site publication date: unset. Research and source dates are kept separate. Confirm material use with your certifier and local extension service.
Your follow-up list
Saved in this browser only.


